Alsace´s summer…friends, food, flowers ….& food !

IMG_1863I have just spent the last 11 days on a summer vacation in the Alsace’s. My friends have a house in a small village that is surrounded by vineyards, cornfields & wild flowers…amazingly beautiful.  I loved on my walks seeing the neighbors tending their vegetable gardens & luckily for us there was always fresh eggs & salad on hand right next door…a dream to grow your own fresh organic herbs & vegetables.

IMG_1869

Breakfast is ALWAYS a delight at Stefanie & Thomas´house and this time we had Stefanie´s homemade Granola with fruit salad..totally delicious!  So tonight, so I can bring home a little of that holiday spirit I am baking my own Granola. I always get lots of inspiration when I am eating & cooking with Stefanie..as she, as I, love food!!! So I wanted to share with you her recipe for this delicious breakfast…  you can find the granola recipe  on her blog http://www.chewingthemoon.wordpress.com/2011/10/20/happy-food-for-free-people-granola/

IMG_1762

You can really  taste the quality of the produce in this region and the age old traditions of cheese & wine making.  In the nearby village of Wissenbourg is the famous Patisserie & Chocolatier `Daniel Rebert`. I love going there &  indulging! They have coffee Eclairs that I LOVE…not my normal daily culinary fare but when one is in France ..why not!!!! And food is about enjoying & sometimes indulging and most of all feeling good!

IMG_1774

IMG_1777

As you can see I was totally enjoying my food!!!  Ahh yes holidays!

Back to my Granola baking….

Love Ling.

IMG_1771

Comments
2 Responses to “Alsace´s summer…friends, food, flowers ….& food !”
  1. Thank you for sharing our holiday granola! We’ve had the best of times together. I miss you, Sweet-Ling.

  2. Isa says:

    Looks fantastic!

Leave a Reply

