Healthy Happy New Year!!!! ….Rich red wine tofu & prune kebabs.

IMG_2381Yes! The first day of a new year …I looove this time. A time to be with loved ones & the excitement of new potentialities for a brand new year. I hope you all had a wonderful celebration with your favorite people, gorgeous food & lots of laughter!

That is of course what I am doing. I am staying with my dear friends Stefanie & Thomas in the French countryside & we made a wonderful celebration in the preparation of the gorgeous food we wished to eat for the last day of 2013. I love sharing food with my friends and the whole experience of  deciding what we would love to eat, to preparing it together… & then clearly EATING  & ENJOYING it together. That is my inspiration today and what the intention of my food blog is all about….sharing food.

I wanted to share this recipe with you that I like eating at this time of the year…tofu marinated in red wine! I love it as I also love red wine & there is something rich & cosy about eating my food flavored in red wine. My friend made these for me last year at this time so thanks Stefanie for the inspiration & the recipe! And thanks also for sharing these wonderful smells that are emanating from your kitchen right now! that is definitely inspiring this blog post along…food, food, food! Always a big topic.

IMG_2349 RED WINE TOFU & PRUNE KEBABS

serves 4

ingredients:

400g  block of firm tofu

16 prunes

1 cup red wine

6 Tbsp maple syrup

black pepper

cinnamon

8 skewers

This is a very easy recipe even more so if you start preparing the day before. The longer you marinate the tofu the better.

In a saucepan add the red wine , maple syrup, freshly ground black pepper & a dash of cinnamon and bring to boil. Reduce the heat to low and simmer for about an hour so the liquid is thickening & reducing. Let cool.

Drain the tofu well & cut into cubes so you have 24 cubes. Assemble the tofu & prunes on the skewers so you have 3 cubes of tofu & 2 prunes in between. Lay them in a flat container that has a lid & pour the marinade over so they are well coated.

Let sit to marinate for some hours turning the container over in between times so the sauce really soaks into all the tofu.

Heat a little oil in a frying pan (or you could use a grill pan if you have one), fry the kebabs so the tofu is browned on the outside, about 5 mins each side.

I like to eat these with a quinoa salad but also yummy as a starting dish. Pour any remaining sauce from the marinade over the kebabs after heating it slightly.

Done!

I am sending you all,the best wishes for your new year. I hope it is filled with healthy happy food!!!! One of my resolutions is to keep up sharing my food ideas so we will see each other at the virtual EatLing dining table.

Love Lingxo

Comments
3 Responses to “Healthy Happy New Year!!!! ….Rich red wine tofu & prune kebabs.”
  1. Thanks for reminding me of this recipe, sweetie! It’s so easy to cook something delicious and forget about the recipe right after … This is what makes this food blog so good and special: remembering the good food that we’ve had and finding more delicious food to prepare for ourselves today and tomorrow … With love, Stefanie

  2. Oh I forgot to pick these apples, thx for reminding me, much love, th.

  3. Jett says:

    Ling darling it Looks just delicious, we love eatling spreed the word and food.xx

Leave a Reply

