Still celebrating…glamorous stuffed pumpkins!

IMG_2443

Last week I was all about continuing the celebration of the new year. I came back to the office with lots of NEW recipes, some old favorites & these glamorous stuffed pumpkins! The first week of the new year is wonderful when everyone is filled with optimism & intent on keeping their new year resolutions. I am feeling quite dedicated as I am fulfilling one of my resolutions right now by keeping up my blog & sending out my food ideas for you all to (hopefully) cook up!

I wanted to continue that abundant, decadent feeling of foods we eat over our holidays. I made these for a birthday party catering in December & they looked so rich coming out on a big platter. I also made them for my friends over the holidays. To me these little parties in a pumpkin are somehow decadent (decadent healthy) & glamorous… perhaps i am mad. Can food be glamorous? Absolutely!!! They are also bright & they make me happy when I look at them. So I wanted my lunch friends last week to have the feeling they were eating in a very lovely restaurant on holiday still!

I believe every meal is a celebration, whether you are eating alone or with others.

Baked Pumpkins stuffed with Orange-ginger Bulgur

Serves 4.

Ingredients:

2 hokkaido pumpkins

olive oil

salt & black pepper

1 tsp cumin

For the filling:

1.5 cups of bulgur

2.5 cups of water /1 tsp vegetable stock powder

100ml freshly squeezed orange juice

3 dessertspoons sultanas or raisins

4 shallots

1 green capsicum

1 garlic clove

1.5 tsp freshly grated ginger

40g roasted pinenuts

1 dessertspoon brown sugar

salt/ pepper

1/2 tsp cumin

bunch of parsley. You could also use mint or coriander.

What I love about this dish is it is really  quick & simple. Once you have cooked the bulgur beforehand as the pumpkin bakes you prepare the filling. And they are ready to fill  as soon as they come out of the oven.

Soak the sultanas in the orange juice for 1 hour.

Bring the water with the stock powder to the boil. Reduce the heat, stir in the bulgur & place the lid on. It takes 10 mins to cook ( when the water is absorbed). Take off the heat , allow to cool. Just a note, you can use other grains for the filling. I have made this with quinoa and this is yummy. I must say I like the nutty flavor of the bulgur & its texture. You could experiment with other grains such as barley.

Cut the pumpkins in half & remove the seeds. Make a mixture of the oil, cumin , salt & pepper. Using a brush, oil the pumpkins, place on a oven tray and bake for 25-30mins at 180 degrees.

Cut the shallots, garlic, capsicum in small pieces. Grate the ginger. Finely cut the parsley. Heat some olive oil in a pan and cook the vegetables & ginger until softened. Add the sugar & cumin and mix well. Add the sultanas/ orange mixture and bring to the boil. Add the bulgur & pinenuts and cook so all the liquid is absorbed. Adjust the seasoning with salt & pepper.

By this time the pumpkins should be cooked. Fill each half generously with the bulgur. I served mine with a mint tzaziki & my favorite tomato chutney.

Thats all for now,

Lingx.

Comments
2 Responses to “Still celebrating…glamorous stuffed pumpkins!”
  1. Yummmm, I remember those! Can I have one? Now? xox

Leave a Reply

