Winter Sunshine Salad.

IMG_2492Ok ,it is the most common talked about theme..( one I try not to talk too much about!)…..the weather! And it is taking me more than 10mins to come up with another approach to this weeks post!  Alas, I can`t escape it (especially regarding food) as this salad is a reflection & an inspiration to contrast the Siberian like conditions we were experiencing outside.( well minus 8 is Siberian enough for me!) The colder conditions are also making us crave different foods & I have been craving lots & lots of fresh  fruits & vegetables, sweet dates & walnuts that I add to everything I eat and warmly spiced food…so this salad was the perfect reflection of all those things. And it looked really alive, fresh & healthy , I knew I was going to feel really good after eating it. The most important thing in my work and my own eating habits, to feel enlivened by the food I & others eat.

So I hope you will also experience some warmth in this salad & if you are living in warmer climates then its the perfect salad for you too!

IMG_2090

Fresh dates from my local Turkish supermarket in late summer. I didn´t really know how to eat or dry them but they looked beautiful as decoration.

Chicory orange date & walnut salad  with  pomegranate dressing.

serves 4

Ingredients:

4 chicory

4 oranges ( I used blood oranges that added a great color to the salad)

1/2 cup roasted walnuts

8 dates

Feta cheese (optional)

mint to garnish

Dressing:

1/3 cup agave syrup

1/3 cup pomegranate  molasses ( you can find this in your local middle eastern supermarket)

Black pepper

pinch of cinnamon

juice & zest of 1/2 lemon.

IMG_2498

Lightly roast the walnuts in a pan and coarsely chop when cool enough to handle. Whisk together the dressing ingredients in a small bowl.

Wash & pull apart the chicory and lay out on a salad plate. Peel & chop the oranges in rounds, add to plate.

Top with chopped dates & walnuts and drizzle the dressing over the salad. You could sprinkle some feta on top. Add mint to garnish.

I served this salad with a bowl of roasted root vegetables cooked with chickpeas. I whisked together some olive oil spiced with salt, pepper, turmeric & cumin. I added 2 bay leaves & cinnamon sticks and about 6 star anise. Delicious!

love Lingx

Comments
One Response to “Winter Sunshine Salad.”
  1. This sounds really good! That is a very nice sale for a Majorcan lunch too because we have lots of oranges on the island right now. Hope to have it together with you some time soon, my love. xxx St.

Leave a Reply

