LiebLINGs Essen #2: the Lebanese Mezze

IMG_2591When I put lieblings essen on the menu everyone is very excited at my lunch show… the cooking show as i call it.

Liebling´s essen in german means favorite meal/food…You can also call someone Liebling  meaning  lovely, darling,sweetie… so this weeks darling food!

Funnily Lieblings essen #1 is my creation of falafels, tabboule, hummus, muhammara (roasted red capsicum dip with walnuts),Haloumi with tomatoes & mint ,…… For me there is such a delight of having the abundance of choice when you sit down to a table laden with lots of different dishes that you can fill your plate & savor all the different flavors. And apparently for my friends at the cooking show too.

Thankfully for me, my friends were in Lebanon over the holidays & raved about the wonderful food. They brought me back this wonderful book by Chérine Yazbeck called the `The rural taste of Lebanon, a food heritage trail`and that is where I was inspired to use her recipes for the lebanese mezze menu.It is really a great book detailing the different foods produced in the different regions of the country and definitely an inspiration to go there.

I have to say I really enjoy when I cooked this the placing of a finished dish on the table & then the next & the next until I found I had created a whole table of yummy dishes..really satisfying. Even though I made lots of yummy things from the book I would like to share with you the very simple & very delicious Moutabbal (Aurbergine purée) which is my favorite……

IMG_2512

Moutabbal by Chérine Yazbeck from the rural taste of Lebanon.

I have adapted the recipe slightly.

Ingredients: (serves 4)

1 aurbergine (500g)

2 tablespoons tahini (sesame paste)

juice of 1 lemon

2 tbsp pomegranate seeds

1 crushed garlic clove

2 tbsp olive oil

salt

Cut the aurbergine in half & sprinkle with salt, let them sit for 30 mins. Wash & drain ,then brush with olive oil and place on a oven tray. Cook for about 20 mins at 200° until they are cooked. It is good to let the outer layer cook until brown so you get a nice roasted flavor in the purée.

Once cooled, scoop out the aurbergine flesh into a blender. Add the garlic, lemon,tahini & salt & purée but only enough so there is still some texture.

Place in a serving bowl drizzle the olive oil over top & sprinkle with the pomegranate seeds.

Serve with some warm bread or crackers…yum!!!

Thats all for now… hopefully you will get inspired to create your own table laden with lots of your own lieblings essen for your lieblings!

Love Lingx

 

Leave a Reply

