Breaking Bread with Spring spargel! …. Walnut & Carrot bread.

IMG_2967Spargel Woche!  Asparagus week!  Spargel woche sounds better.  Every year at this time, we eat Spargel for the whole week at the lunch show…Spargel spaghetti, Spargel quiche, Spargel soup, Spargel with new potatoes & BUTTER, Spargel roasted…is it enough now? We are very lucky that Nadine`s Dad makes the trip to Beelitz (famous for it´s Spargel) in the surrounding countryside of Berlin for the freshest & best Spargel you can get.

Spargel is the german word for white Asparagus & believe me everyone is crazy for it here as it is only available between May & June…June the 24th being the official end date. I love how everyone gets excited about eating this delicate & elegant vegetable. The first meal of Spargel of the season is always accompanined with sounds of appreciation.

So each day this week as I peeled the Aspargus, I slowed down & was fully appreciating what the earth offers us each season. I had such delight in shelling fresh peas that gave me memories of eating them straight from the pod as a child.

IMG_2949

 

 

On Friday we had Spargel soup & broke bread together with my delicious homemade Walnut & Carrot Bread. I love this expression Breaking Bread together & that is exactly what we did. I promised some friends to get this recipe posted this weekend so here I am.

 

Actually I have my dear friend Stefanie to thank for this wonderful recipe. I first experienced it while staying with her in March & have been making it ever since. I love it as is quick to make,wonderfully delicious &  I especially love experimenting with what I put in it. Carrot & walnut has been a favorite…but i have made it with Hazelnuts, caraway seeds & walnuts, Fresh rosemary & sunflower seeds.

IMG_2875

 

Here is the link to Stefanie´s wonderful blog & bread recipe, I love how she calls it shockingly easy brunch bread as that it is!

http://chewingthemoon.wordpress.com/2011/09/14/shockingly-easy-sunday-morning-brunch-carrot-zucchini-bread/

Below is my adaptation of her original recipe:

Ingredients (makes 1 loaf):
1 1/4 cups warm water
1 packet active dry yeast
1 tablespoon honey
2,5 cups spelt flour
0,5 cup rye flour
1 carrot, grated
1/2 cup pan-roasted walnuts
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1/3 teaspoon pepper

2 tablespoons olive oil for brushing the pan

In a medium bowl, sprinkle the yeast onto the warm water and stir until the yeast dissolves. Stir in the honey and set aside for 10 minutes, until the yeast blooms and swells a bit.
In the meantime, mix the flours, salt and pepper , carrots & walnuts in a large bowl. Add the yeast mixture and mix with your hands.
Brush a 8-cup loaf pan generously with the olive oil. Turn the dough into the tin, cover with a clean, slightly damp cloth, and set in a warm place for 30 minutes, to rise.
Preheat the oven to  180C, with a rack in the middle. When ready, bake the bread for 35-40 minutes, until golden and pulling away from the sides of the pan. I finish things up by leaving the bread under the grill for about two minutes – to give the top a bit deeper color. Remove from oven, and turn the bread out of the pan quickly. Let it cool on a rack so it doesn’t steam in the pan. Serve warm.

Thanks Stefanie for this lovely recipe!!!!!

So that is my week about celebrating the seasonal bounties & breaking bread= sharing a meal together.

Lingxo

Comments
One Response to “Breaking Bread with Spring spargel! …. Walnut & Carrot bread.”
  1. Sweetie, thank you so much for enjoying and reposting my bread recipe! It’s such an inspiration having you as a friend, wonderful cook and crazily creative person. I love you.

Leave a Reply

