STACK # 2…Roasted Pumpkin, Halloumi & Aubergine

Pumpkin,aurbergine & Haloumi STACKI love that I have this blog as a personal recipe journal to look back on and see what food was inspiring me last year when I need some ideas for dinner….tonight I am revisiting my warm pumpkin & chickpea salad and it definitely still holds up in the delicious category…and shall be revisited some more.

While the smell of roasting pumpkin was filling my kitchen it inspired me to get my  favorite dish of the moment posted. I have been stuck on stacks again as they remind me of the versatility of vegetables and keeps my mind on food presentation.  My most favorite part of the cooking process is the combination of the color,  texture & form coming together when I serve my food upon the plate.  I like the way these stacks look and they are so wonderful to cut into and get a combination of all the flavors in your mouth at once! There is an infinite possibility with stack combinations and creating wonderful textures by adding raw & cooked ingredients together but for the moment in these cold months these are my winter stacks..soft & warming.

Roasted Pumpkin, Aubergine & Halloumi STACK with tahini dressing.

serves 4

Ingredients:

1 butternut pumpkin

2 aubergine

1 block of Halloumi

1/2 cup of fresh sage finely cut

olive oil

salt

Tahini dressing

1 garlic clove

salt

2 Tbsp roasted sesame

3 1/2 Tbsp lemon juice

3 Tbsp tahini

2 Tbsp olive oil

2 Tbsp water

 

Cut the aubergine into 16 round slices, lay in a colander & sprinkle with salt abundantly. Let sit for 30 minutes. Prepare the butternut, cutting into 16 rounds & then peeling the skin.

Heat the oven to 190° on fan bake function.

Make the tahini dressing by crushing the garlic clove with a tsp of salt in a mortar & pestle. Add the tahini, sesame, lemon juice & olive oil. Mix in the water ( you may need to add more for a good consistancy).

Rinse the aubergine & dry with a paper towel. Lay pumpkin & aubergine on  baking trays covered with baking paper. In a small bowl mix together some olive oil & 1 tsp of salt, brush oil mixture on vegetables and bake for about 25 mins. Turn the vegetables slices over & brush with some more oil halfway through the cooking time.

When there is 10 mins left of the vegetables cooking time cut halloumi into 8 slices & cook in a non stick pan on both sides so they are crisp golden brown on the outside. Only oil the surface of the pan with a little oil wiping over with a paper towel.

Now simply stack the vegetables & halloumi on your serving plate, top with tahini dressing, fresh sage & freshly ground black pepper.

Done!

Love Lingxo

heart

 

 

 

Comments
2 Responses to “STACK # 2…Roasted Pumpkin, Halloumi & Aubergine”
  1. I am trying this recipe. Thank you for the inspiration. Quick question – is there a difference between a butternut pumpkin and a regular pumpkin?

    • eatling says:

      Hi Madeline! Butternut pumpkins are a little sweeter but I like to use them in this recipe because you can cut nice round slices that sit better on the stack. Ling.

Leave a Reply

